GCSD Celebrates School Board Recognition Month

GCSD Celebrates School Board Recognition Month
Posted on 01/07/2022
Celebrating Local Leaders January 2022

GCSD School Board Members

Georgetown County School District will join school districts throughout the state and nation to celebrate School Board Recognition Month in January. More than 600 locally-elected and appointed school board members throughout the state, including 8 from GCSD, will be recognized by schools and communities for their service and dedication to public education.

The theme “Celebrating Local Leaders” reminds us all to celebrate the unique role school boards play in championing and advocating for quality education and the ownership they take for governing their local public schools. As the elected/appointed representatives of the people in their local communities, they represent their local communities’ voice and vision for their public schools.

“Our GCSD School Board members continue to be committed and dedicated to providing the best education experience possible for our students, families, employees, and community,” says Superintendent Keith Price.  “They are visible throughout our county and responsive to all stakeholders.  We are so fortunate to have a Board who supports our mission the way they do and I'm thrilled to be able to recognize them for their commitment.”

As a part of School Board Recognition Month, GCSD board members will participate in an official signing of the South Carolina School Board Member Ethical Principles during their January 18 school board meeting. By signing the principles, school board members publicly vow to uphold effective governance principles and pledge to improve public education in our community.

GCSD board members are : Dr. Michael Cafaro - At-Large Representative; Patti Hammel - District 1; Pat DeLeone - District 2; Sandra Johnson - District 3; Randy Walker, District 4; Bill Gaskins, District 5; Lynne B. Ford - District 6; and Dr. Arthur Lance, Jr. - District 7.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.